Pulsed Laser Deposition Research Group
CNR-SPIN and University of Tor Vergata | Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile e Ingegneria Informatica | Via Politecnico 1, I-00133 Roma
Scientific Popularizations:
Dr. Andrey Varlamov

Andrey Varlamov, born April, 25, 1954 in Kiev, Ukraine (USSR ). In 1977 he got Master’s degree cum laude at the Moscow Institute for Physics and Technology.   In 1980, under supervision of Alex Abrikosov, he was  awarded his Ph.D. in Condensed  Matter Physics. He worked as a researcher  (1981–85), associate professor (1986–1989),   and full professor (1990–1999) of the  Department of Theoretical Physics of the Moscow  Institute for Steel and Alloys (Technological University).  He worked as the invited fellow at the Condensed Matter Theory Group of Argonne National Laboratory, USA (1993).

Since 1999 he is the principal investigator of the Institute of Superconductivity, Innovative Materials, and Devices of the Italian National Research Council (CNR). Since 2004 he also is Adjunct Professor of University “Tor Vergata” (Rome, Italy), being responsible for the course: "Quantum and Statistical Physics". 

Andrey Varlamov was awarded the USSR State Prize in Physics for young scientists (1986), the degree of Doctor of Sciences (Habilitatus) in Condensed Matter Physics (1988), and the degree of Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa of Bogolyubov Institute for Theoretical  Physics (2011); he is also a member-correspondent of Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere (2009).   His main fields of scientific interests are: superconductivity,  theory of metals, theory of phase transitions, and nanophysics. Andrey Varlamov is the author of twelve books,  four monographic review articles, more than 130 scientific and 50 scientific-popular papers. Andrey Varlamov is the member of Advisory Board of Genova Festival of Science, he is also a  member of the Editorial Board of the Russian Academy of Sciences popular science magazine “Kvant”. For many years he executed the duties of vice-Editor in Chief of this magazine (1986–1992).